Girl buying fruit from market

As a vegan it can be a nightmare finding out what’s safe to eat. These are some foods you probably thought were vegan but aren’t!

With the food industry always trying to reduce costs it’s becoming increasingly shocking the variety of animal products finding their way into foods you thought were cruelty free. Surely fruit and vegetables are safe? Fruit juice must be safe? Well, I can tell you now, nothing is safe. Okay, that’s a slight overstatement but you do need to be vigilant. To make things easy for you here are a whole bunch of foods you probably thought were vegan but aren’t.

“Shit, so there are even more things that aren’t vegan!?!?”

Unfortunately there are animal products in the most surprising of places so it’s best to know about them. It takes commitment, planning and A LOT of ingredient checking to be completely free of animal products but we think it’s worth it.

This list was put together so you know and are aware of what to look out for. For a long-term, healthy vegan lifestyle it’s much easier if you WANT to be vegan, rather than feel like you should. For this reason, if after reading this article you realise many staples of your diet are not vegan, take your time finding the right alternatives rather than cutting out everything straight away. There has never been a better time to be vegan, every day there are more and more plant-based options so go slow and find alternatives one by one.

 

A Whole Bunch of Foods You Thought Were Vegan But Aren’t

 

Foods Labelled as ‘Dairy Free’

Can contain: Animal additives, E-numbers or just plain meat

Don’t be fooled by that dairy free stamp! This one may seem obvious but although things marked as ‘dairy free’ won’t contain dairy they may contain other animal products. A chicken breast is dairy free, so is a prawn, they’re still not vegan. Check for the vegan stamp!

 

Vegan products in UK
Yup, all vegan!

 

Honey

Contains: Dead bees

Many people may not realise but honey is not vegan. Although there are many reasons for this, the key points are that many many bees are killed during honey production, honey is actually the bee’s food and beekeepers often kill the queen bee to keep production levels high. If you want to know more here’s an interesting article from a beekeeper. 

 

Lyle's Golden Syrup Can Vegan
Ditch the honey and go for agave, maple or golden syrup!

 

Margarine

Can contain: Casein or lactose

Although a lot of margarine is vegan, it’s not always the case. Some brands use casein or lactose so make sure you check the ingredients or look for a vegan stamp. Your daily Vegan has a very comprehensive list of vegan butters in the UK and USA which is great. Ingredients are constantly changing, so make sure you regularly check your shopping basket in case they’ve added some nasties.

 

Alcohol

Can contain: Egg whites, milk products, crustacean shell, bone and connective tissue, fish bladders

Be cautious all you vegan boozers, alcohol can contain a whole variety of different animal products that you’d never expect. Cider and wine sometimes use gelatine (cow and pig bone and connective tissue), albumin (derived from egg whites) and casein (milk based protein) in the filtration process. Wines use crustacean shells for fining and ales commonly use Isinglass to filter yeast which is taken from fish bladders (you’ve gotta be taking the piss, fish bladders?). To find out if your favourite booze is meat-free then check out Barnivore.

 

Foods you thought were vegan but aren't
Vegan Boozer?

 

Red coloured foods

Can contain: Crushed insects

How do they even think of these things? Red food colouring or carmine is made from the cochineal insect which is crushed to produce the colour. Reportedly 70,000 beetles must be crushed to produce 1 pound of the dye. It’s used in many red sweets and foods along with cosmetics and household items.

 

Soups

Can contain: Meat Stock

Many soups which may seem vegan actually use meat stock for flavouring. This is very common in traditional restaurants throughout Europe so have a word with the waiter before you order that vegetable soup.

 

Bowl of soup with bread
A lovely bowl of vegan soup

 

Fruit Juice

Can contain: Fish oil, sheep’s wool, crushed insects or animal bones

How have they managed to put animal products in juice? To seem extra healthy many companies add extra nutrients and vitamins like omega-3 oils which are derived from fish and vitamin D – sometimes sourced from sheep’s wool. Not only this but some juices use gelatine for thickness and carmine for red colouring.

 

Marshmallows and Haribo style soft sweets

Can contain: Crushed insects, bone and connective tissue

Most marshmallows and Haribo style soft sweets contain gelatine and many red ones also use carmine. If you felt left out not being able to eat sweets like your friends when you were younger, we know how you feel. Now there’s a huge variety of vegan sweets so you can have tooth fillings like the rest of your friends!

 

Roast vegetables and mash

Can contain: Goose fat, butter, milk or cream

Whether it’s ready made from the shops or from a restaurant be careful as roast vegetables may have butter or goose fat used for baking. Mash is regularly cooked with cream, butter or milk (or all three) so keep an eye out!

 

A Whole Bunch of Foods You Thought Were Vegan but Aren't
100% Plant Based

 

White sugar

Can contain: Cow bone

Whilst this is less common in the UK, many sugar companies use bone char (charred bones) to whiten their sugar. This also applies to brown sugar as it goes through the same process as white sugar and then has molasses added. A huge amount of products have added sugar, so there may be a lot of foods you thought were vegan but aren’t.

 

Dark chocolate

Can contain: Milk or milk powder

I was eternally grateful when I found out that a lot of dark chocolates don’t use any dairy. Beware though, this tends to be better quality chocolates with a higher percentage of cocoa. Other dark chocolate brands may still use milk products so check the ingredients list or look for a vegan stamp!

 

A Whole Bunch of Things You Thought Were Vegan but Aren't
So glad that chocolate is still on the menu, but check to be sure!

 

Worcestershire sauce

Contains: Anchovies

Yup, one of Britain’s favourites is not vegan or vegetarian, it contains anchovies. Instead go for the proud Sheffield staple Henderson’s Relish as it’s cruelty free!

 

Pesto

Can contain: Animal stomach

Not only are many types of pesto not vegan, many are not vegetarian either. Most traditional types contain Parmesan which may use rennet. Rennet is taken from the stomach lining of mammals, most commonly young calves. 

 

Sacla Free From Vegan Pesto Jar
Gotta love vegan pesto!

 

And something interesting for you….

 

Figs

Contains: Dead wasps

Hard to believe but completely true, for some figs to be pollinated it requires a female wasp to die inside! The wasp enters to lay her eggs, is then unable to escape and is broken down by enzymes in the fig. Figs would be unable to pollinate without the female wasps but wasps also need the figs to lay their eggs. As they both need each other to survive, it’s what’s known as a symbiotic relationship.

This is a completely natural process and no animals were exploited so figs are still considered vegan, but it’s something interesting to know. It seems crazy but it’s true folks.

 

Pin me!

 

A Whole Bunch of Foods You Thought Were Vegan but Aren’t

 

Crushed insects, fish bladders, stomach lining, how do they even think of using it these things?

If this is all new information to you then I’m sorry to be the bearer of bad news. There may be many food you now realise aren’t vegan but there are probably plenty of foods you thought weren’t vegan but are.

Right now we are experiencing the Vegan Revolution and every day more and more vegan items are going on the shelves. Our numbers are growing and we’re putting pressure on companies to get meat off the menu and out of our products. As I mentioned in the opening lines, it’s all about baby steps. If these are products you regularly consume then take your time finding the right alternatives and be a life-long, happy vegan!

 

You might also like to read

9 Reasons Why You Should Be Vegan Already

This is Why a Vegan Diet Sucks

Things at Home You Thought Were Vegan but Aren’t

This is Why Vegan Travel is SO Awesome

Want to keep up to date with our latest articles and adventures? Sign up for our newsletter and join the gang!

26
Leave a Reply

14 Comment threads
12 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
16 Comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Deborah

Vanilla and Raspberry flavoring can come from Beaver anal gland secretions and is usually labeled natural flavors – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Castoreum

Gosh dang it! Just another point to carefully read your labels! Thank you for this, I didn’t know half of it!!

Lisa Gray

Hey what about Palm oil /fat and other parts that are drastically contributing to the mass deforestation, and habitat loss for orangutangs and other species Not ethically vegan !

Great article. 🙂 It is often I find myself looking over labels for hours just to try to establish if it is safe to eat! There are so many different brands that are now trying to be more progressive in their labelling and that is really helpful. I would love to see it come into law that labelling animal products should be statutory, what do you think? I often make my own pesto which is delicious and much tastier than the Tesco one (although I don’t think there is such thing as a bad pesto 😉 )

Explain deeply. great work..!

Many people think the vegan diet is unhealthy and difficult, but a well planned vegan diet can be the healthiest around. Also, there are egg, dairy, meat, pretty much everything replacements, although most vegans agree it’s better to stick to whole foods.

very nice blog post.. Very happy to read it do continue writing to make me understand well.. Thank you

Jason Jehosephat

It isn’t true that “for all figs to be pollinated it requires a female wasp to die inside”. Not all figs sold for consumption require this. Even in cases where a wasp is involved, it doesn’t matter for people whose vegan ethics are about not killing or abusing a living creature, the point being that the wasp has already died doing what it does naturally, and isn’t even a wasp any more because it’s been dissolved.
https://askabiologist.asu.edu/figs-without-wasps

I’m doing some research for my vegan girlfriend and I am a bit shocked that a vegan diet is so incredibly strict. No honey? No orange juice? I’m sure most people had no idea that these products are non-vegan.

Whether honey is vegan or not, is quite a controversial question. I believe only radical vegans give up using honey.

Great article, totally what I was looking for.

Wow! Didn’t know about figs and white sugar! Thanks for clearing it up!

My wife always believe that foods with dairy free stamp are all vegan. She should read this post.

My wife always has a headache every time I choose pure vegan food, I think this article will be helpful to her